To the RMC and RMC Saint-Jean Graduating Classes of 2021 from the Foundation: I Have Confidence in You!

Earning an undergraduate degree from one of Canada’s military colleges is no easy task.  It is not for the faint of heart.  At the Royal Military Colleges of Canada Foundation – we know the level of commitment that it takes to succeed academically and in the other pillars of athletics, bilingualism, and military leadership.

We recognize that the Class of 2021 is graduating in a challenging period for Canada, and for the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF).  As you graduate and join the ranks of commissioned officers in the CAF, we want you to know that we have confidence in each and every one of you.  Why can we say this with such conviction? It’s because we share the same values: Truth, Duty and Valour.  Those values shape how we see your achievements today, and they form the basis of our commitment to support you as you move forward in your careers. Let me explain:

Truth.  Your degree is the result of hard work, but it is also the sign that you have the critical thinking skills needed to become fully contributing members of the profession of arms.  Your ability to learn will be an essential part of your success both in the CAF, and whenever you transition to back to civilian life.  Your class has experienced a level of public scrutiny that few others have faced, and through your responses to the Statistics Canada survey on individual safety, you made it clear that the situation must improve.  We know that you adhere to the truth, no matter how uncomfortable it might be.

Duty.  You have adapted to changing conditions, rapidly moving to a dispersed learning environment in response to the global COVID-19 pandemic, while maintaining cohesion and fostering morale across the cadet wing in innovative ways. You witnessed events that touched the military college community, including the crash of Stalker 22.  We know that you understand the unlimited liability of military service.  In a time when Canada faces a rapidly changing international security environment, we have confidence in your ability to change.

Valour.  Your class has shown the willingness to confront challenges, and to step forward and take the initiative. From a distributed environment, you rallied cadets together to raise funds for charitable causes.  Your efforts contributed directly to the growing success of the Athena Network, with its expanding network of mentors.  These examples of leadership from the Class of 2021 show us that you are ready to join the profession of arms, and to contribute to the necessary cultural change that is underway in the CAF.

The RMC Foundation is here to foster the success of Canada’s future leaders through charitable giving to enhance the experience of students at the RMC and RMC Saint-Jean, and to maintain the heritage of the military colleges, including Royal Roads.

We applaud the graduating class of 2021, including the first 15 graduates to be granted a degree by RMC Saint-Jean since 1995.  We recognize the essential contribution of the military, academic and support staff at the Colleges who helped to enable your education.

 

15946  Jill Carleton

RMC Foundation President

Class of 1987

Membres de la promotion de 2021 des Collèges militaires royaux du Canada et du CMR Saint-Jean : au nom de la Fondation, j’ai confiance en vous!

Décrocher un diplôme de premier cycle d’un Collège militaire royal du Canada (CMR) n’est pas une mince affaire. Il s’agit d’un véritable exploit. À la Fondation des CMR, nous sommes pleinement conscients de la persévérance nécessaire pour réussir un de nos programmes d’études et satisfaire aux exigences des autres piliers, soit la condition physique, le bilinguisme et le leadership militaire.

La promotion de 2021 termine ses études durant une période difficile pour notre pays et pour les Forces armées canadiennes. Votre diplôme en poche, vous deviendrez bientôt officiers commissionnés au sein des Forces canadiennes. Nous tenons à vous dire que nous avons une confiance absolue en chacun et chacune d’entre vous. Comment pouvons-nous en être aussi certains? Nous partageons les mêmes valeurs : vérité, devoir et vaillance. Ces valeurs définissent votre réussite à nos yeux, et elles sont au cœur de notre engagement à vous épauler dans la suite de votre carrière. Je m’explique :

Vérité /strong> – – Votre diplôme témoigne de votre dur labeur, mais prouve aussi que vous possédez l’esprit critique nécessaire pour devenir des membres à part entière de la profession des armes. Votre capacité d’apprentissage sera déterminante pour votre succès, tant au sein des Forces canadiennes qu’après votre retour à la vie civile. Votre promotion a connu un niveau d’attention publique quasi inédit. Par vos réponses au sondage de Statistique Canada sur la sécurité individuelle, vous nous avez clairement indiqué que les choses doivent changer. Nous savons que vous adhérez à la vérité, même lorsqu’elle est difficile à entendre.

Devoir – – Durant la pandémie de COVID-19, vous vous êtes adaptés à des conditions changeantes et êtes rapidement passés à un environnement d’apprentissage à distance, tout en innovant pour maintenir la cohésion et le moral des troupes dans l’escadre des élèves-officiers. Vous avez été témoins d’événements touchant la communauté des collèges militaires, dont l’écrasement du Stalker 22. Nous savons que vous comprenez les risques illimités associés au service militaire. Le Canada fait actuellement face à une situation en constante évolution sur le plan de la sécurité internationale, et nous avons confiance en votre capacité d’évoluer.

Vaillance – Votre promotion sait relever les défis, se porter volontaire et faire preuve d’initiative. Même en téléapprentissage, vous avez mobilisé les élèves-officiers pour recueillir des fonds au profit d’œuvres caritatives. Vous avez directement contribué au succès croissant du Groupe Athéna et de son réseau de mentors en pleine expansion. Ces exemples de leadership montrent que votre promotion est prête à intégrer la profession des armes et à participer au virage culturel crucial amorcé par les Forces armées.

La Fondation des CMR a pour mandat d’appuyer la réussite des futurs leaders canadiens au moyen de dons visant à enrichir le parcours des étudiants du CMR et du CMR Saint-Jean, et à préserver le patrimoine des collèges militaires, y compris de l’Université Royal Roads.

Nous félicitons la promotion de 2021, qui comprend les 15 premières personnes à recevoir un diplôme du CMR Saint-Jean depuis 1995. Nous tenons également à souligner la participation essentielle du personnel militaire, universitaire et de soutien des Collèges à votre éducation.

 

15946  Jill Carleton

Présidente de la Fondation des CMR

Promotion de 1987