European military student cooperation | RMC Foundation

For the past 2 years RMC Saint-Jean has been invited to the Leonidas Trophy event at Thermopylae area, Hellas to participate in a historical 25 km trek on the Kallidromos Mountain to honour the battle of Leonidas.  Students also participated from other European military academies including the Belgian, Polish, Austrian, Italian, Dutch, French, Bulgarian, Romanian and Greek academies.

Apart from the athletic component to this historical trip, the main objective of this meeting was to meet some of the leading figures of the different military academies in hopes of developing future student exchanges. This type of event helps RMC Saint-Jean build diplomatic relations which can hopefully be used for exchanges with other nations and students of the international study program provided at RMC Saint-Jean.

Your support to our Truth, Duty, Valour fund for current needs will allow us to annually fund this important professional and athletic development opportunity for the students of RMC Saint-Jean.

Leonidas Trophy Event | RMC Foundations“Of course, another goal prompted us to participate in this event. At first, participation in the half marathon seemed a relatively easy challenge for them. Out of all odds, registrations were full for this one. There remained only the option of the 42.2 km Marathon. With only a few months of training, we made every effort to accomplish this major challenge. We can now claim to have run our first marathon at the authentic Athens Marathon.

 All in all, this adventure was extremely rewarding for us as student athletes, and future leaders. This experience allowed us to discover the world and the varied cultures of Europe. Through this meeting, we had the chance to forge international links in addition to discovering Athens and its rich story. Had it not been for the financial contribution from the RMC Foundation, this excellent professional training opportunity could not have taken place.”

Événement sportif rassemblant des étudiants du CMR Saint-Jean et d’écoles militaires européennes

European military student cooperation | RMC Foundation

Ces deux dernières années, le CMR Saint-Jean a été invité à l’événement Trophée Léonidas dans les Thermopyles, en Grèce. Il s’agit d’une d’une randonnée à saveur historique de 25 km sur la montagne Kallidromo en souvenir de la bataille des Thermopyles. Des étudiants d’autres écoles militaires européennes y étaient également, notamment de Belgique, de Pologne, d’Autriche, d’Italie, des Pays-Bas, de France, de Bulgarie, de Roumanie et de Grèce.

Outre son volet athlétique, ce voyage au cœur de l’histoire visait principalement à susciter des rencontres avec les leaders de diverses écoles militaires dans l’espoir d’organiser des échanges étudiants. Ce type d’événement aide le CMR Saint-Jean à établir des relations qui pourraient mener à des échanges internationaux, notamment pour les étudiants du programme d’études internationales de l’établissement.

Votre soutien au fonds Vérité, devoir, vaillance nous aide à financer chaque année cette importante occasion de développement professionnel et sportif pour les étudiants du CMR Saint-Jean.

Leonidas Trophy Event | RMC Foundations« Bien sûr, un autre objectif nous a poussés à participer à cet événement. Au début, courir un demi-marathon semblait être un défi relativement facile à relever. Contre toute attente, toutes les places étaient déjà prises pour le demi-marathon. Il ne restait de la place que pour le marathon (42,2 km). En seulement quelques mois d’entraînement, nous avons tout fait pour relever ce défi de taille. Nous pouvons désormais dire que nous avons couru notre premier marathon à Athènes.

 Somme toute, cette aventure a été extrêmement enrichissante pour nous, étudiants, athlètes et futurs leaders. Cette expérience nous a permis de découvrir le monde et les diverses cultures d’Europe. Nous avons eu l’occasion de tisser des liens avec des personnes d’un peu partout dans le monde en plus de découvrir Athènes et sa riche histoire. Sans la contribution financière de la Fondation des CMR, nous n’aurions pas pu participer à cette excellente occasion de développement professionnel. »