RMC Debate and International Affairs Society Takes Home Honours at Annual Model NATO Conference

RMC Debate and International Affairs Society in front of tank display

During the reading week break, the RMC Debate and International Affairs Society (DIAS) attended the Carleton Model NATO conference in Ottawa. This conference works to simulate the proceedings of NATO councils and committees, while simulating debate and negotiations surrounding important topics that concern the alliance in the present day. This year the RMC delegation was tasked with acting as representatives from the United Kingdom and Slovakia, with participation in the following four  committees; North Atlantic Council, Military Committee, Civilian Intelligence Committee, and finally the European Atlantic Partnership Council.

This conference challenged our ability to engage in high level discussions of international affairs and relations.  It strengthen our ability to craft NATO level communiques, and finally helped us gain valuable communication skills we required to reach consensus.

During the conference, RMC DIAS members had the opportunity to meet with Ambassadors and Defence Attaches to Canada, the previous Ambassador from Canada to NATO, as well as the Global Affairs Canada Director General of International Security Policy.  Delegates also had the chance to engage on topics that covered issues such as the future of the alliance, the emerging threat of terrorist groups, the emerging threat of informational and cyber warfare, and finally the need for climate and global health actions by alliance members.

The RMC delegation finished the conference with two awards. OCdt Cameron Stanzel, was awarded the Honourable Mention award (third place) for his role as Slovakia in the Military Committee. NCdt Bayley Young (28140) was awarded the Distinguished Delegate award (second place), for his role as the United Kingdom in the North Atlantic Council.

The RMC Debate and International Affairs Society (DIAS) would like to thank the RMC Foundation, and their donors for the generous support to the Leadership Fund.  Activities such as this conference allows Students to expand their knowledge of the international affairs realm, and increase their ability to build consensus and debating and negotiation skills. – 28140 NCdt Young

Le Club de débat et d’affaires internationales du CMR remporte des prix à la simulation annuelle de réunion du Conseil de l’OTAN

RMC Debate and International Affairs Society in front of tank display

Durant la semaine de lecture, le Club de débat et d’affaires internationales du CMR a participé à la simulation de réunion du Conseil de l’OTAN à l’Université Carleton. L’activité a pour but de simuler les délibérations des conseils et des comités de l’OTAN, de même que les débats et les négociations sur les questions d’intérêt pour l’alliance. Cette année, la délégation du CMR devait jouer le rôle des représentants du Royaume-Uni et de la Slovaquie dans les quatre comités suivants : le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord, le Comité militaire, le Comité du renseignement civil et le Conseil de partenariat euro-atlantique.

La conférence a mis à l’épreuve notre capacité de prendre part à des discussions de haut niveau sur les affaires et les relations internationales. Elle a renforcé notre aptitude à rédiger des communiqués du niveau de ceux de l’OTAN et nous a enseigné des compétences en communication inestimables pour parvenir à un consensus.

Durant la conférence, les membres du Club de débat et d’affaires internationales du CMR ont eu la chance de rencontrer les ambassadeurs et les attachés militaires du Canada, l’ancien ambassadeur du Canada à l’OTAN, et le Directeur général, Politique de sécurité internationale d’Affaires mondiales Canada. Les délégués ont eu la chance de traiter de sujets tels que l’avenir de l’alliance, les menaces émergentes que constituent les groupes terroristes et la guerre de l’information, et la nécessité pour les membres de l’alliance d’agir pour le climat et la santé mondiale.

La délégation du CMR a remporté deux prix au terme de la conférence. Élof Cameron Stanzel s’est vu décerner une mention honorable (troisième place) pour sa représentation de la Slovaquie au sein du Comité militaire. Aspm Bayley Young (28140) a reçu un prix de délégué distingué (deuxième place) pour son rôle de représentant du Royaume-Uni dans le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord.

Le club de débat et d’affaires internationales du CMR aimerait remercier la Fondation des CMR, de même que ses donateurs, pour leur généreuse contribution au Fonds du leadership. Les activités telles que cette conférence donnent l’occasion aux étudiants d’approfondir à la fois leurs connaissances du monde des affaires internationales, leur capacité à établir un consensus et leurs aptitudes en débat et en négociation. – Aspm 28140 Young