The RMC Debate and International Affair Society (DIAS) sent 25 officer cadets to the Queen’s Model United Nations Invitational (QMUNi) from November 14th to November 17th.

Celebrating its fifth iteration this year, QMUNi has become one of Canada’s top Model UN conferences, drawing over 300 delegates to Kingston for a unique weekend to discuss, debate, collaborate, and resolve contentious issues. Attending the conference allowed the RMC delegates the opportunity to practice parliamentary procedure while negotiating solutions to the world’s most pressing issues, and to think critically on international topics, which are critical skills required of the leaders of tomorrow.

The RMC cadets were honoured to work alongside students from many universities from Canada and the United States and to represent the college at this acclaimed conference.

The group also won several awards: 29145 OCdt Timon, 28140 OCdt Young, 28962 NCdt Boswell, and 28241 NCdt Robinson received Verbal Commendations from the Chairs of their respective committees, while 28487 OCdt Tsekrekos received the Honourable Mention (3rd Place) for his performance.

RMC DIAS would like to thank the Foundation for its support of the club’s endeavours and for providing the Officer Cadets with the opportunity to pursue their interests in international affairs in a competitive atmosphere.

OCdt Teresa Quadros 29063

Le club de débat et d’affaires internationales du CMR a envoyé 25 élèves-officiers à la modélisation de l’ONU de l’Université Queen’s, qui a eu lieu du 14 au 17 novembre.

La modélisation de l’ONU de l’Université Queen’s, qui en était à sa cinquième représentation, est aujourd’hui l’une des simulations de conférences des Nations Unies les plus réputées du Canada. Cet événement unique attire chaque année à Kingston plus de 300 délégués qui discutent, collaborent et résolvent des enjeux controversés le temps d’une fin de semaine. En participant à cet événement, les délégués du CMR ont pu simuler des procédures parlementaires, négocier des solutions aux problèmes mondiaux les plus pressants et réfléchir sur des sujets d’ordre international afin de développer des compétences essentielles aux leaders de demain.

Les élèves-officiers du CMR ont eu le privilège de travailler avec des étudiants issus de nombreuses universités canadiennes et américaines et de représenter le Collège à cette conférence réputée.

L’équipe a récolté plusieurs récompenses : élof 29145 Timon, élof 28140 Young, aspm 28962 Boswell et aspm 28241 Robinson ont reçu des félicitations verbales de la part des présidents de leur comité respectif, alors qu’élof 28487 Tsekrekos a obtenu une mention honorable (3e place) pour sa performance.

Le club de débat et d’affaires internationales du CMR aimerait remercier la Fondation de l’aider à réaliser ses projets et de donner aux élèves-officiers l’occasion d’approfondir leur intérêt pour les affaires internationales dans une ambiance de compétition.

Élof 29063 Teresa Quadros