Battlefield Tour Gravestones | RMC Foundations

In preparation for this year’s 2020 Mottershead Battlefield tour, I, as well as the rest of the individuals who will be embarking this adventure, have been partaking in multiple activities in order to ready ourselves for what we will see in France and Belgium in two weeks time. Among other activities, the weekly seminars that we have been attending have developed our knowledge regarding the various different aspects of the first and second world wars from the naval, air, and land perspectives. As an English Major, this is a fantastic opportunity for me to further my education on the two Great Wars, and to delve into some of the finer details that may have been missed in our general history courses. War poetry has always been something that has fascinated me, so it is fantastic that I get to learn a little more about the literature that I am reading.

On the topic of literature and war art, I have taken an interest in furthering my knowledge about war poetry by receiving an anthology of war poems from one of my English professors. I will read many of these poems aloud to the group on the Battlefields that we will be visiting, which will be an experience in and of itself. To be able to conceptualize the scenes depicted in the text through actual experience is an opportunity that I have not had before in much of the literature that I have read over the years. Equally, we will get to see the landscape that is represented in so many of the war films and documentaries that we have been watching both as a group and individually. This, too, uniquely conceptualizes the severity and grandeur of the Wars in ways we cannot fully grasp until we experience it.

Finally, on a more personal level, I have gone into my families past to learn about the war history of my lineage. Above all the other ways in which I have prepared for the Battlefield tour, this medium has proven to affect me the most. Before my preparation for the Battlefield tour, I hadn’t a clue that my great uncle drove merchant ships in the Battle of The Atlantic, or that my great grandfather was gassed at Vimy and went on to fight at Passchendaele. Often, the influence Canadian soldiers had on the two great Wars is overlooked in current Canadian culture, an oversight I am a culprit of as well. Upon further investigation, however, my experience so far with the Battlefield tour has proven that the influence our great country had on the Wars is one that should never be forgotten, as well as one we should all, as Canadians, take great pride in. I look forward to seeing the Battlefields in real time, and to the memories that I will make on the tour that will be sure to be unforgettable. – OCdt Eve Baker

Your Donations at Work – It is only through the generous support of 5586 Ian and Rosemary Mottershead that funding for this trip is made possible.  Ian and Rosemary attended a Battlefield Tour a few years ago and seen the value in providing this experience to our future officers and wanted this trip to continue.

Préparation aux visites de champs de bataille

Battlefield Tour Gravestones | RMC Foundations

En prévision des visites de champs de bataille de la Fondation Mottershead en 2020, nous sommes plusieurs à participer à de nombreuses activités pour nous préparer à ce que nous verrons en France et en Belgique dans deux semaines. Par exemple, nous avons participé à des séminaires pour approfondir nos connaissances des différents aspects de la Première et de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, du point de vue des forces navales, aériennes et terrestres. En tant qu’étudiante en études anglaises, je considère qu’il s’agit d’une occasion en or de parfaire ma formation sur les deux grandes guerres et d’étudier plus en détail ces événements qui n’ont été que survolés pendant nos cours d’histoire générale. Fascinée par la poésie de guerre, j’ai aujourd’hui la chance d’en apprendre plus sur les textes que je lis.

C’est d’ailleurs après avoir reçu un recueil de poèmes de guerre d’un de mes professeurs d’anglais que j’ai eu envie d’explorer plus à fond cet aspect de la littérature et de l’art de guerre. Je lirai beaucoup de ces poèmes au groupe lorsque nous serons sur les champs de bataille, une expérience mémorable en soi. Nous pourrons visualiser sur le terrain les scènes décrites dans ces textes. Aucun autre genre littéraire ne m’a offert cette chance auparavant! De plus, nous aurons la chance de voir les vrais paysages apparaissant dans tant de films et de documentaires sur la guerre vus par les élèves-officiers. Cette expérience unique est une autre façon de réaliser la violence et la grandeur des guerres.

Finalement, sur une note plus personnelle, j’ai fait des recherches généalogiques pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire de ma famille en lien avec la guerre. Même si je me suis préparée de bien des façons pour les visites de champs de bataille, ce sont les découvertes que j’ai faites alors qui m’ont le plus bouleversée. En effet, j’ai appris que mon grand-oncle avait piloté des navires marchands dans la bataille de l’Atlantique et que mon arrière-grand-père a survécu à une attaque au gaz à Vimy pour ensuite aller combattre à Passchendaele. L’apport des soldats canadiens lors de ces deux guerres est souvent méconnu des Canadiens, moi compris. Toutefois, mes recherches m’ont démontré que le rôle de notre pays ne devrait jamais être oublié et devrait être célébré avec fierté par tous les Canadiens. J’ai très hâte de voir les champs de bataille de mes propres yeux et de vivre des moments inoubliables. – Élof Eve Baker

Vos dons à l’œuvre – Ce voyage est possible grâce à la générosité de 5586 Ian et Rosemary Mottershead. Ayant eux-mêmes participé aux visites de champs de bataille il y a quelques années, Ian et Rosemary ont constaté la valeur de cette expérience sur les futurs officiers et ont voulu contribuer à sa pérennité.