After cancelling fall play in June, the OUA, under the direction of its Board of Directors, has cancelled all sanctioned sport programming and championship play up to March 31, 2021. At RMC, Thursday’s decision affects the regular season and championships of the varsity hockey, volleyball, and fencing teams.

Additionally, U SPORTS announced that it cannot offer the 2021 winter national championships due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

“While disappointing to be without sport for another term, I think this is the right course of action to best protect the health and safety of our student-athletes, staff, and wider community,” RMC Director of Athletics Darren Cates said. “I especially empathize with our graduating student-athletes right now. I know this is not the final year you imagined.”

In a normal year, mid-October is the busiest season for the Paladins, as the soccer and rugby teams would still be competing in their fall seasons, while volleyball and fencing would be preparing for the bulk of their competition, and hockey would already have the first few regular season games under their belts. For now, any semblance of competition will have to wait.

“After significant consultation with our members and advisors, we have determined that OUA sport cannot be delivered prior to March 31st,” Chair of the OUA Board of Directors Dr. Deborah MacLatchy said. “We recognize how disappointing this is to many, especially our student-athletes, but these are unprecedented times.”

Unlike its decision regarding fall competition, the OUA has granted its member institutions the autonomy to determine involvement in exhibition play for all sports, effective January 1, 2021, in accordance with regional public health guidelines and sport-specific return to train policies.

“A decision like this is never easy to make,” OUA President and CEO Gord Grace said. “To continue to uphold the health and safety of all participants, however, it remains a necessary step to take, and I commend the OUA Board of Directors for their work and decision-making throughout this process.”

RMC’s recreation and competitive clubs, who are not sanctioned OUA teams, are permitted to continue their return to train processes, but will also be without competition this winter.

For more details, read the complete statements from the conference offices:

OUA STATEMENT
U SPORTS STATEMENT

Original article posted on gopaladinsgo.ca

L'OUA annule les sports d'hiver

Après avoir annulé le jeu d'automne en juin, Le SUO, sous la direction de son conseil d'administration, a annulé tous les programmes sportifs et les championnats sanctionnés jusqu'au 31 mars 2021. Au CMR, la décision de jeudi affecte la saison régulière et les championnats des équipes universitaires de hockey, de volleyball et d'escrime .

De plus, U SPORTS a annoncé qu'il ne pouvait pas offrir les championnats nationaux d'hiver 2021 en raison de la pandémie COVID-19 en cours.

«Bien que décevant d'être sans sport pour un autre mandat, je pense que c'est la bonne marche à suivre pour protéger au mieux la santé et la sécurité de nos étudiants-athlètes, de notre personnel et de la communauté au sens large,» Directeur des sports du CMR Darren Cates said. “I especially empathize with our graduating student-athletes right now. I know this is not the final year you imagined.”

Dans une année normale, la mi-octobre est la saison la plus occupée pour les Paladins, car les équipes de football et de rugby seraient toujours en compétition à l'automne, tandis que le volleyball et l'escrime se prépareraient pour l'essentiel de leur compétition, et le hockey l'aurait déjà fait. les premiers matchs de saison régulière à leur actif. Pour l'instant, tout semblant de concurrence devra attendre.

«Après d'importantes consultations avec nos membres et nos conseillers, nous avons déterminé que le sport SUO ne peut pas être offert avant le 31 mars», a déclaré la présidente du conseil d'administration des SUO, la Dre Deborah MacLatchy. «Nous reconnaissons à quel point cela est décevant pour beaucoup, en particulier nos étudiants-athlètes, mais ce sont des temps sans précédent.

Contrairement à sa décision concernant la compétition d'automne, l'OUA a accordé à ses institutions membres l'autonomie de déterminer la participation à des jeux d'exhibition pour tous les sports, à compter du 1er janvier 2021, conformément aux lignes directrices régionales de santé publique et aux politiques de retour à l'entraînement spécifiques au sport.

«Une décision comme celle-ci n'est jamais facile à prendre», a déclaré le président et chef de la direction de SUO, Gord Grace. «Pour continuer à assurer la santé et la sécurité de tous les participants, cependant, cela demeure une étape nécessaire à franchir, et je félicite le conseil d'administration de l'OUA pour son travail et ses prises de décisions tout au long de ce processus.

Les clubs récréatifs et compétitifs du CMR, qui ne sont pas des équipes sanctionnées par les SUO, sont autorisés à poursuivre leur processus de retour à l’entraînement, mais ils seront également sans compétition cet hiver.

Pour plus de détails, lisez les déclarations complètes des bureaux de la conférence:

DÉCLARATION DU SUO
DÉCLARATION U SPORTS

Article original publié sur gopaladinsgo.ca