History and Traditions: A Family Affair

Engage for 50– History and Traditions:  A Family Affair

If only the walls of our Military Colleges could talk.  They would tell us the stories of our grandfathers and fathers, our brothers and uncles, our nephews and sons.  They would speak to the triumphs and successes of our grandmothers and mothers, our sisters and aunts, our nieces and daughters.  The walls would speak to their passion and courage and how it paved the way for our future generations.

The dorms would tell the story of sacrifice, courage, leadership, and Military Traditions.  They would speak the truth to who actually commits those skylarks and what it is really like to be a member of a team and the Military Colleges family.

From the Old 18 to the First 32 we have grown outside the conventional walls that once bound us.  We have created an atmosphere and a way of life that Officer Cadets and our future leaders of Canada strive towards.

The walls, the architecture, the furniture, the peaks and the valleys all telling the story of how your heritage led you through the Arch, and to your commitment to the Canadian Armed Forces and the phrase:  Truth, Duty, Valour.

Family and TraditionsIf the walls could speak, they would speak of leadership and the value of a Canadian Military College education.  The large wooden boards hanging in the historic halls of Mackenzie speak to fathers and sons who were Cadet Wing Commanders through generations like 5533 Glenn Allen (1962), and his son 15708 Michael Allen (1987).  It shows that their leadership ran through their blood from father to son, while one made the ultimate sacrifice for our country.

If the halls could speak, they would speak of the three generations of the Beare Family who walked the many changing landscapes of RMC from 3584 Archie Beare (1952) to his son 13337 Stuart Beare (1983) and then Stuart’s daughter 25002 Sarah Beare (2011).  Archie started his journey at RRMC, Stuart CMR, and Sarah RMC, but all three lines of history, spanning some 59 years, decided to all walk through the same Arch and proudly serve their country.

If the grounds could talk, they would tell the tale of mother daughter legacies. They would show the footprints of the mothers and daughters who proudly faced the journey some 27 years apart like 16286 Carolyn Hug (1989) and 26374 Marie-Claire Pharand (2016). They would highlight the path of 17312 Jennie Carignan (1990) a trailblazer in the Canadian Army as well as the first female combat General, and how her daughter 27865 Amélie Lefrançois, will follow her footsteps and march through the Arch in 2020.  The grounds would tell us the tale of grandfathers and grandsons like 2987 William Sullivan (1952) and 27197 Blake Sullivan (2017), or 7257 Michel De Grandpré (1968) and 27534 Colin De Grandpré (2019).

Maybe your tale would start as the first in your family to enter the Colleges.  Maybe it wasn’t a long genealogical line that guided you, maybe you showed up one day with a  suitcase in your hand and no idea what you were getting yourself into like H7076 John van Haastrecht (1966) and later his brother 7821 Peter van Haastrecht (1969).  Both men coming from RRMC to RMC after their parents John and Elisabeth van Haastrecht left the Netherlands in 1949 to call Canada their home.

I personally receive many calls and emails asking me “If I am related to 8294 Art Jordan (1970)?” We may share the same last name but unfortunately, not the same DNA.   I have chosen to become a member of Art’s family nonetheless.  I now tell folks who inquire that I am an honourary member of the family and E0764 Art Jordan Jr (1998), is my brother.  Art Jr didn’t seem to mind adding me into the family as every time we spoke, or saw each other on Campus we always waved and exchanged the customary: “Hi Sis” and “Hi Bro”.

Regardless of the lineage, or the decades that separate us one thing is true; we are all family at RMC.  It is because someone marched before you, and it is for all of those who march after you that you continue to support the future leaders of Canada through your support to the RMC Foundation.

Whatever your story, you stand together shoulder to shoulder, together as one.  Daughters and sons, uncles and aunts, sisters and brothers.  Your motto unchanged – Truth, Duty, Valour.

Jennifer Jordan

RMC Foundation

Fundraising Coordinator

Assistant Editor e-Veritas

Family and Traditions

Histoire et traditions : une affaire de famille

En marche pour 50 – Histoire et traditions : une affaire de famille

Si seulement les murs de nos collèges militaires pouvaient parler. Ils nous racontaient les histoires de nos grands-pères et pères, nos frères et nos oncles, nos neveux et fils. Ils parleraient des triomphes et des succès de nos grands-mères et mères, nos sœurs et tantes, nos nièces et filles. Les murs témoigneraient de leur passion et de leur courage et de la manière dont ils ont ouvert la voie à nos générations futures.

Les dortoirs raconteraient une histoire de sacrifices, de courage, de leadership et de traditions militaires. Ils révéleraient enfin qui commet tous ces canulars et ce que signifie réellement l’appartenance à une équipe et à la famille des collèges militaires.

Des « vieux dix-huit » aux « premières trente-deux », les CMR se sont étendus à l’extérieur des murs qui nous contenaient autrefois. Nous avons instauré une atmosphère et un mode de vie auxquels les élèves-officiers et les futurs chefs de file du Canada aspirent.

Les murs, l’architecture, les meubles, les montagnes et les vallées raconteraient tous comment votre héritage vous a amené à passer sous l’Arche. Ils rappelleraient votre engagement envers les Forces armées canadiennes et la devise Vérité, Devoir, Vaillance.

Family and TraditionsSi les murs pouvaient parler, ils feraient l’éloge du leadership et de la valeur d’une éducation dans les collèges militaires canadiens. Les grandes planches de bois suspendues dans les couloirs empreints d’histoire de l’édifice Mackenzie renvoient à des pères et fils commandants de l’escadre des élèves-officiers de génération en génération, comme 5533 Glenn Allen (1962) et son fils, 15708 Michael Allen (1987). Elles montrent que leur leadership coulait dans leurs veines de père en fils, l’un d’eux ayant donné sa vie pour notre pays.

Si les couloirs pouvaient parler, ils présenteraient les trois générations de la famille Beare, qui ont foulé les nombreux paysages des CMR : de 3584 Archie Beare (1952) à son fils 13337 Stuart Beare (1983), puis à la fille de Stuart, 25002 Sarah Beare (2011). Archie a amorcé son parcours au Collège militaire Royal Roads, Stuart, au CMR Saint-Jean, et Sarah, au CMR de Kingston. Dans une histoire qui s’étend sur 59 ans, tous les trois ont décidé de franchir la même Arche et de servir leur pays avec fierté.

Si les terrains pouvaient parler, ils raconteraient le récit des héritages mère-fille. Ils porteraient les empreintes des mères et des filles qui ont traversé les épreuves à 27 ans d’intervalle, comme 16286 Carolyn Hug (1989) et 26374 Marie-Claire Pharand (2016). Ils mettraient en évidence le cheminement de 17312 Jennie Carignan (1990), pionnière dans l’Armée canadienne et première femme à occuper un poste de général au sein des armes de combat. Sa fille, 27865 Amélie Lefrançois, suivra ses traces et passera sous l’Arche en 2020. Les terrains nous raconteraient l’histoire de grands-pères et de petits-fils, comme 2987 William Sullivan (1952) et 27197 Blake Sullivan (2017), ou 7257 Michel de Grandpré (1968) et 27534 Colin de Grandpré (2019).

Peut-être que vous écrirez une nouvelle page d’histoire en devenant le premier de votre famille à accéder aux Collèges. Peut-être qu’aucune longue lignée généalogique ne vous a précédé. Peut-être que vous vous êtes présenté un jour, une valise à la main, sans savoir dans quoi vous vous embarquiez, comme H7076 John van Haastrecht (1966), et plus tard son frère, 7821 Peter van Haastrecht (1969). Tous deux sont passés du Collège militaire Royal Roads au CMR après que leurs parents, John et Elisabeth van Haastrecht, ont quitté les Pays-Bas en 1949 pour venir s’installer au Canada.

Je reçois souvent des appels et des courriels de gens qui me demandent si j’ai un lien de parenté avec 8294 Art Jordan (1970). Nous partageons le même nom de famille, mais malheureusement, pas le même ADN. J’ai toutefois décidé de rejoindre la famille d’Art. À ceux qui me le demandent, je réponds maintenant que je suis membre honoraire de la famille et que E0764 Art Jordan Jr (1998) est mon frère. Art Jr ne s’en est pas formalisé : chaque fois qu’on se parlait ou se voyait sur le campus, on se faisait un signe de la main et on s’échangeait les « Salut ma sœur » et les « Salut mon frère ».

En dépit des liens du sang ou des décennies qui nous séparent, une chose demeure : au CMR, nous faisons tous partie de la famille. C’est parce que d’autres ont tracé la voie avant vous, et c’est pour tous ceux qui vous suivent, que vous continuez d’appuyer les futurs chefs de file du Canada par votre soutien à la Fondation des CMR

Quelle que soit votre histoire, vous vous tenez côte à côte, réunis. Filles et fils, oncles et tantes, sœurs et frères. Tous unis sous notre devise : Vérité, Devoir, Vaillance.

Jennifer Jordan

La Fondation des CMR

COORDONNATRICE DES COLLECTES DE FONDS

Assistante à la rédaction d’e-Veritas

Family and Traditions